Day 98: Last Day in California

Sunrise in Manresa Beach

Unfortunately, today was the last day here in sunny Santa Cruz. Now, it’s back to rainy Eugene. I hear it’s flooding back home… That’s hard to imagine when I’m surrounded by the sunshine here. I think this is the longest I’ve gone with out seeing rain in months… How sad is that?!

Ben's Santa Cruz surfboard

We drove by the UCSC campus today, and I couldn’t believe that people actually go to school here! And why wouldn’t you!? It’s an amazing campus overlooking the whole city. It makes me want to go back to Eugene less and less… Anyway, we’ve got to get up super early to head back, so I better just post this blog…

Sailboats in the Santa Cruz harbor

So, to the pictures. I think my photos came out great today. I’ve only really looked at the ones I took with my camera, but I did take some really cool ones with my boyfriend’s camera of him surfing. I can’t wait to edit those! I had so much fun editing today; it was really relaxing.  It was incredibly difficult to decide on a photo today, so that’s why you’ve been bombarded with pictures.

Some more from the harbor

So, that was our day. Driving around Santa Cruz and checking all sorts of new places out, with some surf and photo excursions, of course. Tell me what you think! Thanks for checking in!

Watching a surf competition from The Point in Santa Cruz

About Whitney

Crochet. DIY. Gardens. Nonprofits. Crafts. Travel. Organic. Food. Photography. Digital Marketing. Social Media. PR.
This entry was posted in Project 365 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 98: Last Day in California

  1. terri says:

    hard to believe the weather is so nice, to be a day road trip. good photos, my favorite is how you captured the sunset colors in the sky, contrast with the ocean.

  2. bonniegunkel says:

    All of these photos are fantastic Whitney! My favorite is the one with all the boats…the rows and rows of boats…love the blue sky, the reflection in the water, just all of it. 🙂

  3. mindymilburn says:

    I am on overload lol I love so many things about each of these shots. The sky and the water int he first is gorgeous! The framing of the board is fantastic. the boats, well that is my favorite shot, it is spectacular, the sunset and the sepia tones in the next are brilliant and the black and white is beautiful!!

  4. Thanks everyone! I’m so excited about my photos from the weekend! I’m glad you guys like them! Love the feedback! I can’t wait to see what you all have been up to as well!

  5. Jon says:

    Love them all. Great composition with the surf board, great motion in the waves, nice B&W. All good stuff! And the weather is why I live where I do. We don’t know what to do if it rains for a few days. We are so used to what I call “no weather”. I did not grow up here, but it gets pretty easy to take it for granted after you’ve live someplace that this.

    • Thanks!!! 🙂 I’m glad you like them!!

      It’s crazy that people don’t experience rain like we do here, I’m just so used to it living in Oregon… I’m a pretty good Oregonian though. There’s nothing like the smell of the first rain. Where are you from??

Leave a Reply

