Day 106: Vanagons

My blog is all about me and my future today. If you want to know, continue. If not, go to the end and see the pretty picture.

Today, I was inspired by a parking lot (so was Bonnie). I cut across it all the time in my frantic rush to class, but there is always one vehicle that grabs my attention. It is always the same one, but today it was in a different spot. I noticed the change, and it must have sparked my creativity/passion/dreams.

Some of you who found or follow me on Twitter may have noticed this part of my bio: “I’m an old lady who loves the beach, vanagons, travel, photography and #project365.”

We’ve had 106 days together and you’ve seen lots of these things.  I always tell you about my old lady qualities. I’m from the beach. I travel lots and love road trips. Photography and #project365…. Well that’s all this blog is about! But what’s that thing about Vanagons?

More commonly known as a hippie van or a Winnebago, it’s the vehicle that inspired today’s photo. More correctly, it inspires me constantly. Everyday I think about what I’ll do with the rest of my life. Where do I want to be and how am I going to make that happen? Two and a half years ago, I came to this school apprehensive and clueless. I had no idea what I wanted to do, but I have a better idea now. In these past few years my plans and life have changed dramatically. The one thing that has stayed the same is my idea of a Vanagon. I want one. I want to live in it. I want to travel. I want to help people and do something meaningful while I take it around the country. I have lots of ideas how to do these things. As my classes, job options and education keep progressing, I get more and more ideas. That’s why my majors are all over the place… Majoring in PR and Geography plus minoring in nonprofit administration and women’s and genders studies. When people ask me my majors and hear that mouthful, they ask what I want to do with that. I’ll usually give them a generic answer, but really I can’t explain it to people who don’t care. I guess that’s a pretty random answer to what a Vanagon is and why it’s important to me, but there you go.

I feel creepy taking pictures of other people’s cars and posting them to the internet.  That’s just weird… I don’t have a Vanagon now, but I do have a little toy Vanagon. It’s on a map I stole from my last roadtrip and the cloth ribbon is from one of my old lady crafts.

 

My vanagon dreams, goals and future. All in one photo.

Thanks for reading friends 🙂

Three posts in one day. That must be some kind of record.

About Whitney

Crochet. DIY. Gardens. Nonprofits. Crafts. Travel. Organic. Food. Photography. Digital Marketing. Social Media. PR.
This entry was posted in Project 365 and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 106: Vanagons

  1. mindymilburn says:

    I have never hear them called that before but I think you and I are kindred spirits. Travel is in my blood:)

    LOVE the shot, it is so creative and symbolic!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Day 106: Vanagons | Whitney T. Photography -- Topsy.com

  3. bonniegunkel says:

    I love how you set this photo up! Very creative. And I LOVE the vanagon! So groovy!

Leave a Reply

