Day 175: Acquaintance Assault

Today’s photo is another common form of violence and assault called acquaintance rape. Again, it’s usually not seen as assault. However, according to the National Center for Victims of Crime, 77% of attacks are committed by people the victim knows.  Acquaintance rapes are usually not reported, which most likely means that it’s more common than you would think.. Anyway, more about statistics tomorrow.

 

This doesn't seem to scream consent...

Due to my new theme, I couldn’t show you the spicy shrimp noodle soup I made for dinner… I wish I could have shared the deliciousness with all of you, but I’ll just tell you that it was amazing. Definitely chopped champion worthy 🙂

Thanks for reading everyone! I know it’s not a happy topic, but I really like taking these photos, and I’m pretty pleased with the results so far. I’d love to hear feedback and/or suggestions! Thanks so much again!

About Whitney

Crochet. DIY. Gardens. Nonprofits. Crafts. Travel. Organic. Food. Photography. Digital Marketing. Social Media. PR.
This entry was posted in Project 365, Sexual Assault Awareness Month and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 175: Acquaintance Assault

  1. mindymilburn says:

    It might not be a happy topic but it is an important issue! You are very courageous for tackling such a difficult thing to discuss you you don’t know who you will reach through your work my dear. Again, you are doing an amazing job!

    • Thanks Mindy!! I’m glad you think so too 🙂 I’ve found that every time you do discuss difficult things it really opens the doors for others to share their stories too 🙂 Thanks for your encouragement!!

  2. schleefy says:

    You made awesome photos on a serious topic. Your work is more than important and I agree if someone starts talking about it in public there will be other letting you know their stories and that is what should happen to stop that crime. Go and make it public…start the public discussions……I will support you…..

    • Thank you! I’m glad you like them and thank you so, so, so, so much for your support. I hope that I can one day make a difference and educate more people about this cause! It seems to be working, and I’m so glad!

Leave a Reply

