Day 194: Expectations

Here is my inspiration:

An email came to my student account today. It was about the gang-related assaults going on in Eugene around the campus area. Here is the link to the story it was talking about. The email itself wasn’t that bad, but it had a list of things to do so you can do prevent assault. I just wonder why we don’t get a list of things not to do to others.

Here is how to “keep safe” :

  • Before leaving your residence let someone you trust know your plans.
  • Always be aware of your surroundings, and carry a fully charged cell phone in case you need to call for assistance.
  • Walk with trusted others. There is safety in numbers.
  • Be responsible and avoid risky behaviors that may influence decision-making or place you in a vulnerable position.
  •  If you see suspicious or unusual activities, distance yourself immediately.  Trust your instincts and take action to remain safe.
  • If approached by an unwelcomed individual or group, try to avoid them and go to a safe or populated location.
  • If threatened or assaulted, contact Eugene Police if off-campus and UODPS if on-campus.

Here is my photo today:

SOOC by the way : )

Here are my plans:

It’s Friday night, and I’m off to someone’s house. My phone is charged. I’m going with others. All my blog readers know that I’ll be going. I won’t do anything irresponsible. I’ve got my mace. No problem. Right?

Resources today are just the ones above!

About Whitney

Crochet. DIY. Gardens. Nonprofits. Crafts. Travel. Organic. Food. Photography. Digital Marketing. Social Media. PR.
This entry was posted in Project 365, Sexual Assault Awareness Month and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 194: Expectations

  1. bonniegunkel says:

    Another great photo! Love the SOOC! 🙂

    It’s really sad that the university has to send out an email like that to begin with. I seriously don’t know what is wrong with people.

    • Thanks Bonnie!!! 🙂 I am so excited that I know what SOOC means now!!

      And yeah! We get them at least a few times a month, and they don’t send them out every time they get reports of stuff like this. I don’t know what’s wrong with people either!

  2. schleefy says:

    Great SOOC. I agree with Bonnie. Something is wrong with the world and the people…..what can we do about it….??

  3. Jim Reed says:

    Great shot Whitney! I’m still reading, just haven’t had many comments lately, sorry. Big thumbs up to point #2 on the email by the way. Situational awareness is an important skill to cultivate, for a number of reasons.

Leave a Reply

